Clinical psych first year, second thoughts, and fears

psychgrad

Hi,

I'm a first year graduate student in a clinical psychology phd program. Ever since I started my program, I began having doubts about whether I chose the right place. My advisor, who seemed amazing during interviews, has not been great. She's an assistant professor, new, and not that confident or nice much of the time. Also, I didn't realize this at the time, but I'm worried that since this is such a CBT focused program, I'll have a hard time getting an internship on the East Cost (where I want to end up in). I know that since I'm just a first year, I should worry about internship too much, but I guess I am anxious about it. I'm trying to tell myself to just focus on the present and not be so worried about decisions I made in the past or that I'll have to make in the future, but my brain won't let go of those thoughts (please don't recommend CBT to me --I'm already in therapy :-P ). I know it's not common (or maybe not that possible) to transfer in the middle of a clinical PhD program, but I keep wanting out of here -- especially since I don't feel like I fit in wonderfully with the students... I thought once I'd be in grad school, I'd have this feeling like, "finally! I'm here!" but it's not coming. Does anyone have any comforting words or advice??? Is there any way to make up on my own for the minuses in my program?