U of Chicago - Divinity School

Guest Guest

Guest Guest

I've been accepted to UChicago Divinity MA program. I'm excited but a bit apprehensive about attending. My main goal is to receive my Ph.D in Philosophy and teach. Although the Divinity school has a great reputation (I think) and my main interest is in Philosophy of Religion I'm concerned that attending the Divinity school might have a stigma attached to it. I am certainly going to be able to take philosophy courses as the school encourages interdisciplinary work. Anyone have any thoughts? Anyone have info on the program? Thanks!

I'm no expert, but I think if you want to teach philosophy your end goal should absolutely be a phil phd. That said, Chicago is a great school and many philosophy programs would probably look favorably on your application even coming from a divinity ma program as long as you did substantial coursework in philosophy.

Guest phronesis
I've been accepted to UChicago Divinity MA program. I'm excited but a bit apprehensive about attending. My main goal is to receive my Ph.D in Philosophy and teach. Although the Divinity school has a great reputation (I think) and my main interest is in Philosophy of Religion I'm concerned that attending the Divinity school might have a stigma attached to it. I am certainly going to be able to take philosophy courses as the school encourages interdisciplinary work. Anyone have any thoughts? Anyone have info on the program? Thanks!