Theatre Management/Producing MFA

SHANNON5986

Anyone else applying to Theatre Management/Producing or Arts Administration programs?

I'm applying to Yale for Theatre Management, Columbia for Theatre Management & Producing, NYU Steinhardt for Performing Arts Administration and American University for Arts Management.

I've had 4 years experience working for a professional non-profit theatre company and I have great letters of recommendation, which I'm hoping will outweigh my mediocre GPA and GRE scores. (3.52 GPA, 158 - Verbal, 154 - Quantitative, 4 - Writing) I also feel pretty good about my Personal Essays.

Any input, advice, experience, etc. would be appreciated!

Best of luck to everyone!

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Shannon,

I also applied to NYU Steinhardt's Performing Arts Administration program. No others, since I don't want to relocate and just fell in love with their program. I went to their open house discussion and the chair specifically said that recommendation letters are one of the most important parts of the application and could really sway your admissions decision.

Have you heard anything back yet?

Best of luck to you!

Jessica

Hi Jessica!

Thanks for your reply. That's really nice to hear in regards to letters of rec. So far I've been invited to American's open house in late March - though it sounds pretty general, like they probably invite everyone who applies - and I got an interview with Columbia next week. I'm really excited! (And a little nervous.) I have a friend in the Performing Arts Admin program at NYU Steinhardt and he email-introduced me to Brann Wry. I'm hoping to visit NYU as well next week. Did they say at the open house how many people they typically accept?

Thanks again for your reply and best of luck to you as well!

Shannon

Hi Shannon,