CV/Experience Improvements for MPP Apps

rudy2012

First time poster, but i've been lurking. I graduated in 2010 with my BA in Psych, 3.7 GPA, a bunch of really good extracurriculars/honors societies/awards/NCAA athlete. I have been working full time since in renewable energy, so by the time I apply in Fall 2012, I will have 2 years of solid work exp. BUT I haven't been volunteering/NGO/thinktanks the last 2 years since graduation (stupid me), and I was never able to study abroad due to NCAA sport. My question is, what should/can I do from here on out until applications time (~9 months) to improve my apps? I am in San Diego, where there seem to be almost NO opportunities for volunteer work related to public policy. I just got started with a climate lobbying group so that's something, but it's def not a huge, well-known NGO/think tank or anything..I know they have fellowship-type experiences heavily concentrated on PP for people still in undergrad - does anyone know of anything I could get involved in at this point? Anything for people who have already graduated undergrad? Everything I have seen is internships/fellowships for current students. I will be quitting my job/going to travel aboad for about 2 months, then moving away from San Diego before applying, so even somethign like a 2 or 3 week immersion experience or internship (for non current students) in PP maybe?? And I am genuinely interested in PP, I have more motivations than JUST my applications, so something like what I described would be really cool..I know it just sounded like all I care about is resume padding..