Archives? (and other summer stuff)

klm22

Hi, I'm a sophomore history major interested in doing something history-related over the summer, both for my personal edification and because I hear it is helpful. I've been told that the best things to do are working as a research assistant to a professor, working at an archive, and working at a museum, in that order. I'm currently working on trying to find a professor to work with (which is difficult), and I'm also putting together a possible independent research project, which I will pursue if I can get funding for it (also pretty hard as a sophomore). So, I'm guessing that I should probably be working on archives as a possibility as well.

However, I'm slightly hazy about what exactly one does as an assistant at an archive. How do you make sure you get a position for a history major rather than one for a future librarian? (Or is there a difference?) For that matter, how do you go about getting one of these positions at all? I do have a list of libraries and archives that might be good for my interests (made with the help of one of my professors), but I'm not sure who or how to write to at each of these places, or frankly how to talk intelligently about what I want to do there. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks.