Higher Education Master's decision questions-- send help!

fallen castles

Hi there :) I applied to higher education/student affairs/college student development programs for Fall 2012 and was hoping for some advice/anecdotal information on the programs I applied to. So far, I weigh in as follows:

Accepted: Loyola University Chicago, Northwestern University

Waitlisted: Iowa State University

Rejected: Washington University in St. Louis

Waiting: Columbia University, DePaul University

1. I want a program that focuses on research, since I want to eventually get my doctorate in Media Studies and Women's Studies. I really like the field of student affairs in general, and I'm hoping that working in this field for awhile will better help inform my future research. I know that getting a doctorate in this isn't practical ATM (I graduated from college in June 2011 and feel like I need more RL experience first), so I figured I'd bulk up my resumé while still staying in the higher ed field :) Hopefully it's not too difficult to transition from higher ed/student affairs into academic research...? ?
  2. I spent a lot of time doing research in undergrad (I was a Gender Studies and Psych major, History minor, so both humanities and soc sci), but I wasn't really thinking about going into higher ed until after I graduated. I have experience in clinical psychology since I did an internship working with clients, if that kind of helps? I was planning on doing a Ph.D/master's in counseling/clinical, but I changed my mind.

Anyway! tl;dr-- I need more practical experience. Like, period. I think that the universities I've gotten into and am waiting on emphasize practicum in various degrees, but should I try going into a program that really emphasizes practicum to make up for my kind of lackluster background? I was never an RA or did much of anything in student affairs, to be honest ?