Applying to MBA program with an Architecture Background

atomlin

Hello All,

This is my first post on the Grad Cafe! I would like some opinions and some constructive criticism on my current career path, and hopefully some insight from someone who might've been in a similar situation.

I recently graduated with an undergraduate degree in architecture, with a minor in business administration. During my last year as an undergraduate student, I realized that although I love architecture, I no longer wish to pursue it as a lifelong career. This comes from several reasons: the current job market and pay rate for architects, personal goals; and a growing interest in business, specifically in an international context.

Currently, I am enrolled to finish my Business administration minor into a major, graduating in another 1.5 years with a double major in International Business and Real Estate(or possibly finance). I have chosen to complete another undergraduate degree rather than an MBA because I really would like to aim for a top 10 MBA program. During the summer/after graduating, I intend to work (preferably in the north east), and after 2 years, apply to an MBA program.

What I would like to work in is real estate development, investment banking, or commodities trading.

So! After all that background info, here are a couple of questions/comments that I'd love help on.

1. Although I do not regret my decision to study architecture, I am frustrated that I am repeating ~2 years of an undergraduate degree. Does this seem like this route will be worth it? If not, what would you advise?

2. With two undergraduate degrees, will I still be competitive for the top MBA programs? I realize I will be short on professional work experience, but it is not unheard of to only have 2 years of work experience, right? My GPA is a 3.8, with a several leadership and other extracurriculars.