English programs & interdisciplinary work

Though the application season isn't quite over, I'm a worrywart and tend to think a bit too far ahead for my own sanity. However, assuming I will be applying for a second round next fall, I was wondering if I could draw on the depth/breadth of wisdom available in this forum - especially since I didn't stumble across it until well after submitting those apps this year.

I've already isolated some things I'll change in my approach, and I think geographic diversity should be one of them. I only applied to schools within a few hours from home (luckily, as a New Englander, there are a lot of them). This was mostly due to feeling responsible for family, but I accept that I might need to give that up for round 2.

My other problem (asset?) is that my background is in visual arts (and English) and I want to study intersections between art history & English, using the literature as my primary source, the visual stuff as secondary - especially literature that portrays artists and their relationships with their work, re: the contemporary art world and re: visual portrayals of gendered bodies. The ultimate point being to dissect authors' analogies between the painter and the writer, as well as how both interact with their subjects. (The detail of a statement of purpose makes this a bit clearer, trust me. Or hopefully).

The ever-elusive "fit" might be more of an issue for me, then. It's a given that some schools won't see this as a "concentration" that fits with their typical way of categorizing applicants/students/literature. On the other hand, other schools are all about interdisciplinary research.