2.35 GPA, do I have a chance at an IR/IA MA anywhere?

secretshayats

I have a dismal 2.35 UG gpa, I didn't do well in Economics.

I graduated around 7 years ago and have WE in government, non profit, and spent the last two years working overseas in international human rights. I can also speak several languages.

Do I have a shot at any school in the U.S. or in Europe for International Affairs/Relations MA programs?

Please let me know!

I think with your work experience you just might. However, I would advise applying to more lower-tier schools as good fits (I googled all MA IR programs in the US and abroad, 400+ universities came up): New England College, American Public University (online), American Military University (online), Indiana University, Alliant International University, Cal State schools (like Fullerton), San Fran State University, Virginia Tech, etc.

For European schools try Universities that offer programs solely in English; they tend to be a little less stringent in their GPA requirements (again not the top tier schools like LSE, but perhaps somewhere like Alice Salomon Hochschule in Germany, etc.)

If you cast a wide net, I am very sure you will land something. Your work experience really makes up for the lack of GPA. Have you taken the GRE yet? Do you know your scores? Do you have publications? If you make up for the GPA in other areas, you'll be a stronger candidate. The GPA is just one portion of your overall application.

Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, I do not have any publications out, but I did research in UG that was presented to the Bush Administration. Also, in UG I was part of student government, organizations, and did a bunch of internships.