Follow your bliss - advice needed

Alphonse23

Hello social science people,

I just recently watched the Bill Moyer Documentary on Joseph Campbell and his saying "Follow your bliss" is especially resonating with me right now.

I finished my undergraduate degree in computer science a few years ago, and now I am in a masters degree for CS right now-- sort of. I'm actually taking a break from grad school right now because I've been having trouble deciding on a thesis topic to finish my degree. I really can't decide because my heart just isn't set on anything. So now I'm thinking maybe I really don't like computer science, and maybe I should switch to a social science. As Campbell says: "Follow your bliss."

So I was wondering, if any one has experiences with the computer sciences, which subject in social studies would be the best fit for a CS/Software engineering type to switch into? I was thinking linguistics, because their analytical approach to language is very similar to the way computer scientists analyze programming languages. But I don't really know. I've never studied linguistics. It looks like a pretty broad field though from wikipedia.

I'm a huge nerd so I read books in every subject. I have no academic experience in any of them, though. I mean, I could just continue reading into the subjects just out of interest, but I'd rather be an active participant, and find something interesting to work on within the community. Something where I'd be given the chance to meet lots of interesting people in the field. That would definitively beat working on some boring software project in CS.

Thanks if anyone can give me some advice.