Top 15 Worthy?

m4thguYY

Hey all,

I am curious if I even have a shot at the three big names near me, in NYC, namely Columbia, NYU, and Princeton for a PhD in Economics.

Ive only attended SUNY schools, namely Binghamton and Buffalo (Buffalo math dept is well-respected comparatively)

My main weak point is my undergraduate degree in Mathematics, graduated with a 3.1

Yet, everything else is strong.

I have an 800 on GRE Q, I have a MAT (Masters) in Mathematics & Mathematics Pedagogy, which should show my ability to teach courses while doing a PhD, GPA 3.65. I also have an M.A. in Pure Mathematics & Probability Theory, GPA 3.71, Concentration GPA 4.0.

My LOR are from amazing faculty, one with PhD in Math Physics from Harvard, one from my Project advisor, one unknown (but from a good professor that I got an A with).

Also, my Project Thesis is "Economic Applications of Stationary and Absorbing States using Markov Chain representations" (tentative name, whatever)

My economic background is minimal, college intro class, business calc, graph theory & applications.

Do I have a shot at these schools at all?

Also, Rutgers is ranked ~40th in the country, would I be safe to assume I will make Rutgers? Is it worth getting an econ PhD from a rank 40?

Thanks all, much appreciated!!

Edited by james8787

Rutgers shouldn't be a problem.

What specific classes did you take as an undergrad and what grades did you get in each one? The importance of these grades will be moderated by the fact that you have a Masters, but they're still important as that's what adcomms will use as a first-step in weeding out applicants.

Rutgers shouldn't be a problem.

What specific classes did you take as an undergrad and what grades did you get in each one? The importance of these grades will be moderated by the fact that you have a Masters, but they're still important as that's what adcomms will use as a first-step in weeding out applicants.