Ethical dilemma about leaving one school for another

AbaNader

I am in a quandry and would like people's thoughts on it. I think more of it is a personal ethical dilemma rather than a real problem.

I finished my Masters at a top 10 school and got into a fairly selective PhD program at a research institute (not in the rankings or anything). The pay is unheard of in academia (esp. with multiyear support), the benefits are amazing (we get dental!) and my adviser is the coolest I've worked with so far. The project is great too (v. cool) with real implications (unlike much of the engineering research these days).

Now I before I got accepted and took up the position at this research institute, I applied to a bunch of schools and recently got accepted to a selective top 10-15 school which has all the makings of a great education. They also offered me a double fellowship and really want me to attend. More critically, however, the person who wants me to do research is someone I've wanted to work with for quite a while and the research is at the heart of my interests. I can't say the same for my current position (the research area is interesting but I can't see myself doing it in 10-15 years). I am now considering leaving my current position and going to this other school for my PhD mainly for the research area and the opportunities afterwards (better reputation, more access to industry, etc.)

I've talked to my current adviser about it and he recommends I ignore the material benefits and follow my passion, that there is no pressure from him, etc.