Better luck next time??

MSW13

So I have ridden the application wave. First with the application anxiety of where to apply, then the brief but welcome relief of getting all documents in on time. This leading to giddy anticipation of getting in to my top schools only to be met by deafening silence from adcomms. Then finally, getting the news that this year was a bust.

At first, I didn't think I could possibly go through this again. It almost seems masochistic to do this to yourself twice..or more.

Which leads me to this post.....how many of you have applied more than once? Are odds better the second time around? Do schools recognize perseverance?

I am not the right person to ask this question because this is my first year applying but, I would imagine an MSW is a type of degree where perseverance means something. I think it shows maturity to go through the application process more than once. It also shows dedication and really proves that you aren´t someone to balk at challenges.

Edited to add- If you are going to apply again, I would make sure there is some extra work experience or even volunteer experience to add to your resume. I would probably also mention in my SOP how the year had helped me gain something that makes me an even better fit for an MSW this time around. But, that´s just what I would do. Maybe someone that has applied more than once can share their experience.

Edited by allyba