Will a dual major help me get into a good school for masters?

chrisscoff

Dear Reader,

I am currently majoring in Law and Society, and Women's Studies at Purdue with a 3.2 Overall GPA and a 3.4 Major GPA. What are my chances of getting into a decent grad school with these credentials? Does having two majors make a difference?

One of my professors (at top school) advised a student on this very subject....I'll paraphrase his words:

Don't double-major. It's not that impressive, and nobody cares if you did, unless you do vastly different things like chemical engineering and art history.* Why would you limit your educational opportunities like this? You spend most of your time filling the (mostly boring) requirements of two majors and you don't have time to actually expand your academic horizons with classes that truly interest you and or potentially give you the opportunity to learn about other things that you might become passionate about, but just don't know it yet.

----

*though I suppose they wouldn't be vastly different if you plan on going into art preservation.

From my own personal experience, I double majored in undergrad. It really hasn't given me any sort of benefit or leg up on the competition. Ultimately, it is what you do during your undergraduate career that matters, including your GPA and your research experience.

Thanks for answering!!

Where are you currently going to school? I noticed that you have Purdue under your list of sociology schools..

One of my professors at Purdue told me that if you are going to use it wisely it will be beneficial in the grad school process. I want to do stratification, mail women and race. Does that make a difference?

Also, I have internships at the YWCA Domestic Violence shelter, I am doing the hotline for the Domestic Violence shelter, I am president of a club, I am doing research for one of my professors. Will that help?

Does having two majors make a difference?

Hi chrisscoff!