UC Berkeley vs Duke? (PhD in Anthropology)

I'm an international student, who has got offers from both UC Berkeley and Duke University. PhD in Sociocultural Antrhopology. I have kept thinking about the two options for quite a long time, but have not come up with a definite decision.

UC Berkeley has a better reputation in the anthropology program, but the funding is not so favorable. I've to TA for about 2-3 years (20 hours each week) to get a stipend, apart from the fellowship I am entitled to.

Duke has a more friendly and supportive community, and they offer a fiver-year consecutive fellowship. But I don't like the city of Durham, which seems to be so boring.

Which one would you choose?

Thanks! :rolleyes:

Edited by reporterinvietnam

Hello reporterinvietnam,

I went to UC Berkeley as an undergrad therefore I am slightly biased. Although I would say go to Berkeley off top, I think you need to consider where would better fit your research interests and which professors you would have access to. I have several friends that TA at the PhD level and have heard no complaints as far as work load, but I guess it depends on the person. You are going to be there for several years so you need to ultimately be happy with your department and the location. If you are thinking in terms of cities I would say Berkeley is a winner hands down with a lot to do in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Durham is not boring (ok, compared to being near San Fran, nearly ANYTHING will seem boring...haha), and Duke is a great school. I would take the money and go to Duke. Do you really want to be working 20 hours a week if you don't need to be?

I guess it depends on just how much better Berkeley is. Please, do you have any other information?

Durham is not boring (ok, compared to being near San Fran, nearly ANYTHING will seem boring...haha), and Duke is a great school. I would take the money and go to Duke. Do you really want to be working 20 hours a week if you don't need to be?