I have a BS in Economics and I have no clue where to go. (Send Help!)

Darkenspirit

Greetings!

It is as dire as I make the title out to be.

I am 23, Asian and speak English as a First language.

I graduated with a B.S in Economics from Drexel last year and Currently work at a job that employs none of the college level skills I have earned. On top of that, I feel the program at Drexel has left me insufficiently prepared for graduate work also and left me with a weird set of skills and interests.

I took economics as a subject because I enjoyed the philosophy behind it when I took AP Macroeconomics in Highschool. Since then I have learned alot and experienced alot. The Economic Collapse of the Housing Market, The Finance Ruin of Banks, The Job Economy right now, Political Fund Raising with SuperPACs, and now Medicare and Medicaid.

Needless to say, I think I enjoy the label of Researcher, Scholar, Teacher, Philosopher, Theory Driven, better than I do over Business man, CEO, Entrepreneur...

I had weird goals of becoming a public worker for the government doing research or becoming a teacher.

The interesting thing I found out though, is a lot of colleges/schools do not offer an A.M or MBA in economics. You are forced to go for the Ph.D track. Along with this, I do not think I have the math foundation neccessary to pursue it. Currently studying for the GREs and I am shooting for 700+ in quantative to at least have a shot at applications.

Any advice for me?

I am open to almost anything at this point.

I dabble alot in technology. I currently do SQL Data Management and Excel work for a company at about 12k a year. A meager income that barely supports my loans and plus I live in tiny accomodations. So if anyone can provide insight into a feasible career/academia path for me, or feel what is right, I will be forever in debt to you.

Thank you for reading.

Edited by Darkenspirit

http://www.aeaweb.org/gradstudents/Schools.php