Deciding to go to grad school

Hey everyone! I'm new and my name is Lyndsey. I am currently an undergrad and starting to think about grad school. I am a journalism major and want to work in newspaper. I don't know what the benefits of getting a master's and/or PhD.

So my question is, how did you all decide grad school was worth the extra time and money? If I do decide to go to grad school, should I stop after I get my master's or keep going and get a PhD?

Welcome to the forum! I'll pass along the advice I got from every single one of my professors when I began asking about graduate school: You do not need a graduate education in journalism unless...

1) You want to teach and/or do research

2) You are eying a specific job which requires an advanced degree (for example, a consulting firm where research experience is needed)

If you want to be a practicing journalist, I think there's a case to be made for getting an advanced degree in a particular area, say economics if you want to work at The Wall Street Journal; however, in this particular profession, experience in the field typically trumps years of education.

If you're thinking about teaching at some point in the future, a Master's degree could come in handy. Depends on what kind of teaching gig you want.

I'm sure there are varying views on advanced journalism degrees — but that's my two cents.

Thanks so much! As of now, I am thinking I am definitely going to get my master's simply because of the pay difference simply by having some extra letters behind my name.

I'd love to teach someday, but I think I will wait on PhD.

Do you recommend taking a few years to work before going to get your master's? I am from North Carolina, so my first choice would be UNC Chapel Hill, which has a great J-School, but they prefer students to have worked a few years before applying.

What do you think?