Gosh, I hate regrets

memepool

Last year I got into some fairly sweet programs in English/media studies, but ended up turning them all down when I got a surprise offer of a pretty lucrative one-year contract job doing software development for a startup -- I have an alternate life as a coder, which I dropped to go back for an MA upon realizing that I hated coding for a living. I figured, though, why not give it another shot, and, anyway, it'd pay off all my student loans... and knowing that it was just for a year allowed me to be pretty shameless about spending my non-working hours aggressively applying to schools hither and yon.

Well, money's nice, but programming for a living still makes me miserable (I know, poor me...). So, I got back into one of the programs that had accepted me the previous year, though not necessarily one I'd consider a dream school -- it's a lovely place and the department has quite a few people I'm looking forward to possibly getting to work with[1], but the school is somewhat geographically isolated and, more importantly, not nearly enough of a name to make me feel comfortable about my job market prospects coming out of it. For the rest of the schools I've applied to, though... reading the tea leaves at the results list on this site indicates pretty clearly that I'm not getting back into at least one of the programs that a) I very badly wanted, and B) accepted me last year. I'm guessing this "get accepted, turn them down, apply again" thing marks me as a dilettante.

So, anyway, as problems go mine aren't so bad. I'm sitting on one acceptance, I'm debt-free, yadda yadda. But oh man do I want the schools I turned down last year...

[1]: I'm almost anxious posting this, since I'm afraid that some of those profs might be idly reading this site. But -- the people there know that if [foo] or [bar] or (*crosses fingers*) [baz!] accepts me, that's where I'm going.