Rejection after rejection... Is it even worth another try?

mlt_unc

I've read many of the other posts on the subject of getting completely shut out for the application season, but I've hit rock bottom with it. I graduate in three days cum laude with an MFA. I have a 3.85 in Art History courses (24 credits worth), several of which have been at the grad level. The director of my program wrote one of my LOR. I'm a published artist, I've won awards. But apparently I'm not good enough for grad school. I got completely shut out. My only hope is that I get accepted into the post bac program at my alma mater. How do I even go about re-applying? Is it even worth it? I'll be adding an internship at a major museum to my resume, and hopefully another year of school. But is that enough to make me worth looking over again? I've already written a completely new writing sample and had one of my art history professors proof it and work with me on it.

But my biggest question is: is there hope? I hardly know anyone who even has a job after graduation related to their major. I only know one person who got into grad school. I've always thought art history is what I want to do with my life, but I'm beginning to lose hope.

I'm also apparently horribly unlucky. I received an informal acceptance letter from my top choice, only to get a letter a few days later rejecting me. I also had my application lost by my back up school, and it didn't get forwarded to the department until after they had filled all of the spots in the program.

But my biggest question is: is there hope?

Yes, yes there is.

Are you going to feel like shit for at least a couple of months, and want to burn down your house/apartment/car/the local Starbucks because it was where you opened your rejection letter/e-mail? Definitely.

Will kindly platitudes like "there's always next year" and "never give up!" make you grit your teeth on the good days and want to choke Cheerful Charlie on the bad days? You betcha.