From Physics to Psychology

Hi all,

I am a PhD student in physics but I have a very strong interest in clinical psychology - strong enough that I want to get a PhD in it after I finish with my physics degree. I am planning to apply for a PhD/MA in psychology the fall of 2013. So far, I have taken as much psychology courses as possible and have just started working in a psychology lab (data entry for now). Here are the undergraduate courses that I have taken: Child Development, Research Method, Personality Psychology, Cognitive Psychology, and Social Psychology. And I will take Intro to Clinical Psychology, Abnormal Psychology and a graduate course on Cognitive Neuroscience before I apply. As for my grades, I have a 3.87 GPA and a 4.00 in the psychology courses.

Given this information about my background what do you suggest regarding the following questions:

1. Do you think I can be a good enough applicant for a relatively good PhD program, or do you suggest that I start with an MA first (I would need funding)?

2. Given that I have plenty of research experience and a few publications in physics, I am inclined to think that I don't need a lot of research experience in psychology to show my commitment and diligence in doing research. So I'm inclined to think that I'd better take as much courses in psychology as possible instead of spending more time in research so as to produce a paper or present a poster. Am I right about this? In other words, does the general advise that research experience matters the most apply to my case as well?