Low GPA for grad school admissions because of one bad semester due to medical reasons.

Hi,

I'm an undergrad student at the University of Melbourne. I'm nearly done with my 2nd year of a 3 year undergrad degree in architecture. Due to having severe fungal polyp sinusitis for over the last 6-7 years, for which I usually go through surgery every 2 years. Semester 2, 2011, my condition become much worse and I found out that the polyp growth was malignant. I suffered from lack of sleep and short concentration levels as it was and then had to be operated on in the middle of the semester. I missed my exams and failed all my subjects for that semester (only 2 as I had withdrawn from the other 2 as I was already feeling the side-affects of my condition). The univeristy would not replace my Failed grades with late withdrawals as my condition was an ongoing one. I was stupid to not defer for a semester but my sinusitis had troubles me through high-school too but I use to carry on as it had never gotten this bad. However, I received a refund in tuition. My real concern came when I looked at my transcript which has two fail degrades which destroyed my gpa of 3.4. I am back at college this year, with a reduced course-load of 3 subjects as I am slowly getting back upto speed. My gpa for this past semester has been a 74%. However, I have hopes of apply to a decent grad school in the US or the UK for my masters in architecture and I am afraid that my grad school application has really suffered with a bad semester of college due to my medical reasons. How much will grad school read into my gpa for that semester considering the medical difficulties I experienced.

Any help would be much appreciated.

That's a shame your school wouldn't work with you on this, especially as you've explained the issue to us. Maybe it's worth trying with them again?