Question about Internships

violetpetals

Hi!

I am taking a year off and will be applying to MA/MA/PhD programs in the fall. Currently I am studying to retake the GRE (I did okay but know I can do better and every little bit helps!), researching programs/profs and trying my best to pinpoint my research interests.

My question: Beyond prestige, is there a significant advantage to interning at a major museum vs. a smaller, less famous museum?

Thus far I have only interned at galleries but I know curatorial internships tend to be research oriented and much more relevant to grad work (esp. for me because I am not interested in contemporary.) I'm not sure whether applying to internships in large cities will be worth the hassle of moving/finding paying work in said cities when there are smaller museums in my home city that offer curatorial internships as well. Returning home has obvious advantages: saving money, less distractions and it will give me the opportunity to attend the local community college to pick up the ever important second research language.

In your opinion which would be more valuable in an application: a (hypothetical) curatorial internship at a big-name museum or a (hypothetical) curatorial internship at a less famous museum + two research languages?

Thank you for any advice!!