Applying from Ireland for US PhD

Tupamaros

Hi folks,

Yes, another "what are my chances?" type thread! I am just wondering whether people know how highly/lowly rated applications would be in the US from Irish universities. My UG GPA in the US system is around a 3.0. I am currently undertaking a masters in political science and my GPA I estimate to end around 3.7 or thereabouts. As of yet I have no publications/work experience or anything like that, just the usual non-academia related part-time work to keep a roof over my head.

Although my UG GPA is low, I'm hoping my masters GPA of 3.7 will mean I'm somewhat competitive for good US schools. Columbia would be the dream destination for a PhD, as well as the likes of UCLA, Chicago, Berkeley etc

Would a 3.7 give me a shot, coming from an Irish uni?

So, I don't know anything about Irish Universities. But I do know a lot about American ones. [Also, my guess is that most American Profs won't have any special knowledge of Irish universities either. This can be more or less helpful to you, but I would just assume ignorance on their part and try to sell yourself as best you can...]

The first thing you should know is that the GPA is only one of several factors that admissions committees care about, and how much they do or don't care will vary a lot from school to school, committee to committee, person to person, and will vary depending on what else you have to offer as an applicant. I've been given the impression that a Master's degree will do a lot to supplant your undergrad record. While your undergrad GPA wouldn't disqualify you, you would have to be exceptionally strong in other areas to make up for it if you want to get into a top program. But your Master's GPA is much more in the universe of what top programs look for, so I wouldn't stress too much about it.