Top Schools with Alternative Teaching Master's Programs for Licensure/Certification

CQE

Hello,

I'm a rising senior that holds a 3.92 overall GPA (4.0 major) as a Business Administration major. I'm also a member of both the University Honors Program and Business Honors Program at my school.

While I lack both an education and content-specific background (such as a major/minor in English, History, or other subject area for example), I do have experience teaching others. I have been a self-employed tutor for the ACT over the past several years, been employed by my university as a mentor/tutor for its student-athletes, and recently volunteered with a large non-profit (that's funded by A+ College Ready) in an effort to help prepare local high school students for their upcoming year of AP English Language Arts.

I recently concluded through various internships and experiences that teaching was what I wanted to do for a career. I've always loved - not liked - teaching, so it is ironic that I didn't embrace the idea of teaching until only a few months ago. It is unfortunate that I came to this realization late in my college career, and, as a result, am in a bit of a predicament. Conversely, I'm fortunate that I had this epiphany before wasting years in a field/setting I disliked.

I also have a strong interest in teaching high school in urban areas. I currently envision myself teaching for a few years and then moving on to attain my doctorate in Education Leadership or Education Policy (I'll probably go with Education Leadership so I can still maintain relationships with students).