Phd in Canada (UoT, UBC...)

Hi guys,

I am an international student considering also applying to Canadian universities.

First of all, do you have any clue, how do Canadian universities fare in terms of reputation, academic rigor, etc. compared to American unis?

On a similar note, how 'difficult' is to get in ? I haven't been able to find any admissions statistics (number of applicants, admission offers)

Is getting into UoT, UBC, McGill, Western, let's say as difficult as getting into top US 25 ?

Moreover, I have heard some rumors that (for whatever reasons) Phds from Canada are considered inferior to American Phds.

Is this true? and does this also apply to outside of North America ?

Last but not least, Canada is supposed to be a very 'livable' country, how does it compare with America ? ; and sorry for being so blunt, is it a better place to live?

Please feel free to offer any insights/ comments.

Cheers !

Hi guys,

I am an international student considering also applying to Canadian universities.

First of all, do you have any clue, how do Canadian universities fare in terms of reputation, academic rigor, etc. compared to American unis?

On a similar note, how 'difficult' is to get in ? I haven't been able to find any admissions statistics (number of applicants, admission offers)

Is getting into UoT, UBC, McGill, Western, let's say as difficult as getting into top US 25 ?

Moreover, I have heard some rumors that (for whatever reasons) Phds from Canada are considered inferior to American Phds.

Is this true? and does this also apply to outside of North America ?

Last but not least, Canada is supposed to be a very 'livable' country, how does it compare with America ? ; and sorry for being so blunt, is it a better place to live?

Please feel free to offer any insights/ comments.

Cheers !

I'm hesitant to offer a reply, but as you are soliciting "any insights/comments", I'll have a go.