help and worried undergrad out

worriedundergrad

I am entering my senior year of college and I really need some direction in my post-graduation life so if anyone has any suggestions or advice it would be GREATLY appreciated.

I am a double major in history and art history at one of the top public universities in the U.S. My GPA is a 3.4 (though, I should add, the only reason it is so low is because I didn't do great in my science and math requirements; my art history and history gpas are around 3.8-3.9). I am very active in extracurricular activities; I am the president of my university's art history society, a paid columnist for an art journal, an editor for an academic journal, and political cartoonist for a newspaper,and a tour guide for my university's museum. I have had two research papers published in academic journals. I am writing a senior thesis and I studied art history and french in Paris for a semester. I had a museum internship doing research on and curating an exhibit on a series of Daumier prints. I mostly have focused on modern French artwork, though of course I have taken coursework on a wide range of things. I have a couple of fantastic references as well. I really want to become an art historian and get my PhD but I plan on taking a gap year and that is where the problems arise...

I am really uncertain as to what I should be doing during that gap year. I am considering returning to France to au pair but that is not really ideal; I would like to be doing something art history related. I would love to do something in a gallery or something writing related but I just have no idea how you find or apply to these things. It seems like everything I look at requires a masters or a PhD. So if anyone has some insight please share I need all the help I can get.

*Also, I am aware of the typo in the title but I can't figure out how to fix it please don't judge me too harshly for that!

Edited by worriedundergrad