GTown SSP/Similar Programs Background

I am looking for some input on the Security Studies program at Georgetown, and also similar programs. I was previously looking into a MPP, but Security seems to be a much better fit for what I want to do. Does anyone know specifically what kind of background they are looking for in applicants? I have 2 years of professional work experience in renewable energy as of August '12, and was considering applying this coming fall...But I am also only 2 years out of undergrad.

If I were to wait and apply in Fall '13, what are some good job/internship/volunteer opportunities to look for that could help strengthen by background? I am interested in AmeriCorps, but not sure if that's the right way to go. Besides that, I guess some kind of entry-level job in security? I feel like that is a chicken and egg situation - hard to get unless you have previous exp/degree, but need related work exp to get into degree program..Any input is appreciated!

It's only 'hard' to get into a security related field because of your location - if you move to the DC area getting a gig with a government consulting firm, a DoD contractor or a security focused think tank is perfectly plausible. (But there are also lots of DoD contractor positions in CA, if you live in a major city)

However realize that there isn't really a "security" specialty once you actually get into that realm - and that the current career path you are on will actually be *better* to stick with / align to your interests. So USE your background in security as your specialty / statement of purpose into Georgetown - renewable energy is all the rage for the Department of Defense, and analysts who focus on energy industry/supply chain/economics-of will always be welcome at the 3-letter agencies.

• 2 weeks later...