Low GPA for bio MS program

amanda_nicole09

I'll try to keep this short: Im an upcoming senior biology major this fall and my current overall gpa is a 2.88 (ive gotten 2 d's in ochem 2 and biochem). I want to apply for a MS biology program, however granted that i get all a's this semester, my overall gpa will only be a 3.0 by the time program applications are due. I dont really have any research experience outside of class laboratory, so i was wondering if anyone else has been in a similar situation, and if so, what did you do? Im thinking I might have to do some post bacc. classes just to get my gap up, even though this wont solve my experience problem. Any advice is appreciated.

My situation was a bit different but had the same effect on my GPA as yours. When I applied to grad schools, my ug GPA was about the same as yours now. What helped me was work experience and excellent letters of recommendation. As an undergrad, I did not plan on going to grad school but I knew that I needed work experience in order to be competitive after graduation. I worked in two research labs, each in a different discipline (geochemistry and ecology). After obtaining my BS, I worked in analytical chemistry for 5 years. During that time, I decided that I wanted to pursue grad school and took some postbac classes.

I recommend that you talk to some professors and get into a research lab before school starts in the fall. If they can pay you, great! If they can't, ask if you can do independent research or volunteer. By joining a research group, you will gain experience and a letter of rec. These will improve your chances of admission tremendously. As for the 2 D's, it's imperative that you retake ochem and biochem during your senior year (or stay an extra semester). Most schools do not consider D as passing.