Ethnographies and qualitative methodology

Alterman

Hello everyone,

Which top schools are better for qualitative focus, especially on ethnographies?

I'm currently studying Anthropology (M.A), and thinking about applying for a PhD in sociology. I heard a disturbing rumor that qualitative research is not as popular or appreciated.

What do you think?

There is a healthy running debate on these boards about the relative esteem given to ethnography in sociology. I recommend looking back through some old posts.

My impression is that, on a whole, qualitative research is a fundamental and well respected part of sociology. Unlike basic statistics, there are rarely required courses in qualitative methods, though I think all departments offer them. Ethnography is a bit of a unique case, however. There are, of course, many very notable ethnographers in sociology (I think many Soc 101 students read Mitch Duneier's Sidewalk), but it's not the core method as it is in anthropology. That being said, very good ethnographers stand to do very well in sociology. Mediocre ethnographers stand to do mediocre. All that said, there is no reason why someone interested in ethnography should not pursue sociology. I would, however, recommend that your statement of purpose temper any methodological zeal (especially for ethnography), because most programs will expect you to go through their methods training hoops, which include invariably some quantitative methods.