Odds of being admitted are stacked against me

amanda_nicole09

Im an undergrad student about to start my senior year, but the more i research graduate programs for a master's (mainly those revolving around microbiology because thats what i love) the more im starting to think that theres no way im going to get into grad school period.

current gpa: 2.88, but should be back to 3.0 by admissions (this is a story in itself)

no formal outside of class research experience (thus, no way to get a lor to talk about my lab experience)

I take the gre for the first time in about a week.

all of this goes against everything grad schools and professors are looking for, so im wondering is science over for me once i graduate (because you cant really do anything with just a BS in bio) or can anyone suggest a good backup plan for me? I honestly feel like my world is ending :o

You do need to get some research experience. It might be worth getting a job as a lab tech before applying, but the master's itself should give you a chance to get some research experience (and it shouldn't be as super-competitve as PhD admissions).

Edited by emmm

Yeah...it is tough to get a foot in the door. I had similar problems until I took a few classes at a local community college and made some good contacts there (I had to go to a different town for research experience, though).

Can you volunteer for one of the labs at your school? I'm a master's student in a microbiology lab, and we have two undergrad volunteers who come in and help with our projects. I know it's still hard to get your foot in the door, but maybe that will help? Good luck, and keep your head up.