Current undergrad seeking MAT/MEd

lainua

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum so I would like some positive/constructive insight.

I am currently a 4th year undergrad with a non-traditional major "Public Health Policy" with a minor in "Education". I found myself to enjoy education a lot more than I thought I would, so I'm thinking of applying to grad school. However, I don't really know what grad school route I should do.

1. My school has this amazing MAT/Teacher's Credential program - so I could apply to that, and then teach for a couple of years and then work my way up the ladder and get into administration (principal, asst. principal, etc)

2. Apply straight to Masters in Education in Educational Administration and work from there. The problem is I don't know many jobs that are in this field. Personally, I'd much rather do this route because then I would already be in administration, which is what I am exactly interested in.

My main goal is to work in the education field with much emphasis in administration, counseling, advising, and such. I currently have a few experiences in teaching and I also work at a SAT prep place. Which route do you guys think I should take?

Is it true that there aren't many teachers being hired nowadays? Do you think I have a better chance with a MEd with educational administration? Feedback please! Also, I am not looking to go much into Ivy Leagues, I come from California & would like to stay in California.

Thanks!

Well, a lot of states require you have X years of teaching experience before becoming a principal. If it's not an explicit requirement, I guarantee you it's still viewed as "necessary" by whomever would be looking to hire such a position.