Career Change to Biostatistics?

I am in serious need of advice. I am currently seeking to change my career. Right now, I am a special education teacher. I have been in this position for 8 years. It has taken me years to decide that I want a math related career. After doing plenty of research, I have settled on the field of biostatistics. The problem is I don't have a math or science background. I would like to enter a grad program in Fall 2013.

I have a B.A. in Communication (minor in Political Science). GPA- I received it in May 2004. I also have an M.S. in Urban Education since May 2007 (I received this as a result of an alternative teacher certification program).

I am 30 years old, live in NYC, married and have one child. I would like to go back to school to make this switch, but I am stuck in a few areas. For one, I do not wish to relocate at the moment. Also, I need to keep my education costs as low as possible.

I am going to a local college this fall to take courses in Calculus, Biology, and Chemistry at the undergraduate level as prerequisites. I also plan to take the GRE soon ( I never took it before).

Questions

1. M.S. or MPH in Biostatistics in terms of a job and pay? I have heard that people view the MPH as fluff. ( An affordable school local to me is SUNY Downstate. They have a MPH in Biostatistics) Another school I have seen is New Jersey Institute of Technology (with the MS in Biostatistics- although it is a bit pricier)

2. Should I even think about getting an M.S. in Statistics and look at SUNY Stonybrook or one of the CUNYs? Would this be a good route to enter the Biostatistics field?

3. Ultimately, I would like to earn a PhD, but that's down the line.

3. Based on my background and plan, does it seem like I even stand a chance?