Funding opportunities for study in Canada

Hi everyone. I am an American student, who is interested in applying to several Canadian universities. I am aware that more "prestigious" universities such as UT, UBC, Alberta, will provide me with funding regarding of my citizenship, so long as I am accepted. However, there are some schools where the funding descriptions are rather vague(such as the University of Ottawa, Dalhousie, amongst others), where they say things like "limited funding is available for international students", "funding is offered to international students though is very competitive", things like that, and I know some schools have pretty much no funding at all for international students.

So basically I was wondering what the likelihood of receiving funding at such a university was and how international students typically went about receiving funding for study in Canada?

Thanks.

Most funding packages in Canada do not include a tuition waiver*, but instead, the stipend is calculated with the fact that you must pay tuition in mind. International students will have to pay a higher tuition rate (usually twice as much as domestic students in graduate school), and also have additional fees (since you are not covered by our provincial health care programs). However, in almost all cases, this difference is offset by an extra award given to international graduate students only (but sometimes the offset award doesn't actually cover all of the extra costs).