Recently Decided I Want to go to Grad School and Need Advice

golgafrinchan

Hi guys,

I graduated last spring with an undergraduate degree in EE and CS and I've been working for a few months as a software engineer.

Before graduating, I thought about grad school, but decided I would try working for a while to see how I like software engineering. I've been enjoying work, but after some reflection I've come to the realization that what I really want to do is get a PhD in CS. The problem is I don't really have any idea what to do now.

Due to personal reasons, I did really really badly for the first three semesters of school. I ended up turning around and working really hard, but it doesn't quite erase how badly I did. I've been looking at grad schools a little and I didn't realize that the application deadlines were so early! And none of them have spring admissions. The options I've been considering in my head are:

Rush out an application for a PhD program

Rush out an application for an MS program then apply to a PhD program when I finish that

Continue working for a year then apply to a PhD program

I'd like to know what you guys think would be the best option and what the best grad schools I could potentially get accepted into for CS would be, given my profile. Also any advice in general about the application process would be super helpful. I've included a list of what I consider my pros and cons below. Thanks!

Double major in EE and CS from a decent school (top 40 according to US News for whatever that's worth).

GPA of 3.5

Haven't taken the GREs yet but I think I could do well on them.

Pros:

3.8 GPA in CS courses for major

3.7 GPA in EE courses for major

3.8 GPA for semesters 4-8 (junior year, senior year, and half of sophomore year)

Took 6 classes (the normal amount is 4) each semester junior and senior year due to double major

Did research over the summer of junior year

The professor really liked me and I could get a good recommendation