Changing PhD programs/grad schools after Masters

Hi All,

I'm looking for advice about switching grad schools. How feasible is it and how frowned upon? My situtation may be a bit different from the norm as I am an international student in a US PhD program. I would not reapply to programs in the US, but to either my country of citizenship or to my country of residence. Would this or my reasons below make the move less frowned upon?

Reasons for leaving US/moving programs

1) My husband has a US work visa but cannot find a decent job. He has basically comitted career suicide as he had a really good career in our country of residence which he could easily re-establish if we were to return.

2) My adviser is very difficult to work with - aside from personality disorders, she is too paranoid to share data or give me a part of the project to work on, but is then unwilling for me to work on another project. She is near retirement and does not appear to care about her students anymore, she doesn't help any of us publish nor is she interested in helping us make connections in the field.

3) I am not enjoying life in the US. Despite many cool things about the country, there are just as many that being a foreigner don't sit well with me. We also really dislike the college town we live in. We're in the middle of nowhere - which has contributed to no 1.- but also seriously affects our quality of life. This might sound a stupid reason, but the thought of being stuck here for another 5-odd years is really depressing.

4) There are some family issues on my husband's side that are drawing us back to our country of citizenship.

I am in my second year and due to take my Masters exams at Christmas. I enjoy grad school overall and want to continue in academia. Oh - I know I'd need recommendations from my current school. I'd hope to get something decent from my adviser, but if not, I know the rest of the faculty would support me.

Thanks for any advice you may have.