How much do schools look at GPA?

whitp

Hi, I am new to this forum and thinking of applying to MFA (photography) in spring 2014.

The BFA program that I am currently enrolled in is my second bachelors degree and I have about 3.5 GPA after 2nd year.

However, I graduated with my first bachelor's degree with an absolutely horrendous GPA and it will bring my cumulative GPA significantly when combined with my current BFA degree.

I was just wondering how much emphasis do schools put on GPA when selecting their grad students?

Thanks!

I don't know how it works for photography specifically, but in the sciences your GPA in your field of interest is much more important than your overall GPA. Thus, many schools would ask for your overall GPA, and then a GPA for your photography courses. Also, it seems that most grad school programs are willing to overlook people who had a rough start, so that if you really messed up your freshman year but then did well the other three years you would be OK.

GPA doesn't really matter for MFA applicants as long as they believe you will work hard once your admitted. If they ask about it during the interview just show them how you changed. Its not likely that they will even notice at most programs.

• 2 months later...

hey it really does not matter what you have done in the past, but it is more about producing and continuing to produce quality work. The NYT picture editor never went to college( he is no longer there, due to health problems) so all I can say is just keep doing what you love and forget about all the qualifications required because in the end it is the people who have the passion and drive to continue NO MATTER WHAT that will prove it all and it is what you produce and discover that makes all the difference.