Submitting a NSF GRFP app after having submitted a DDIG. Bad idea?

LongGraduatedStudent

Hello all, I'm a second year bioanthro grad student. I am thinking about submittting a NSF GRFP application, but I have a problem. I've recently submitted a DDIG proposal for biological anthropology as I will have my MA by the end of the semester.

I was wondering have any of you ever submitted a GRFP app after having submitted a DDIG proposal? If so, did you have any problems doing so. I don't want to do anything that could possibly hurt my DDIG proposal.

I don't see that the submission is a problem. You can't accept both at the same time because of the NSF rules, but as long as you are eligible to apply for both, you should.

Are you sure about that? The GRF is a fellowship that covers tuition and stipend, and the DDIG covers research costs. They don't really overlap and there's nothing I can find in either solicitation that prohibits holding both simultaneously.

Also, I personally know someone who used both in the same year. SO.....

Edit to add: I don't think it's a bad idea at all. If you can get both at the same time, more power to you. I think this is probably a situation that doesn't come up a lot, as you have to advance to candidacy before you can apply for a DDIG. I doubt many people have advanced to candidacy before that 3rd semester of graduate school.

Edited by guttata

Are you sure about that? The GRF is a fellowship that covers tuition and stipend, and the DDIG covers research costs. They don't really overlap and there's nothing I can find in either solicitation that prohibits holding both simultaneously.

Also, I personally know someone who used both in the same year. SO.....