I/O Psych MA/PhD programs - Lacking research experience

ms8609

Hi guys -

I'm hoping to apply to several I/O Psych MA and/or PhD programs for Fall 2013. I have a good undergrad GPA from the psych department of a respected liberal arts school, and strong GRE scores. I've been out of undergrad for 4 years, employed for the duration as an analyst at a media research and consulting firm. However I have at least 2 gaping holes in my application material/background:

1. I have literally no undergrad research experience whatsoever. I volunteered for a summer at a psych lab (at a different university than where I got my undergrad degree), but it was so insubstantial that I'm pretty reluctant to even mention it on my CV. I.e., if I were asked about it, I would have a hard time justifying how the experience prepared me in any way for a career in higher academia.

2. While I can definitely acquire 3 recommendations from people who will say nice things about me (2 undergrad professors, 1 work supervisor), I'm concerned my academic references won't be able to say much of value besides that I was a bright and conscientious student.

I do have a really strong interest in the field and some work experience that I think is legitimately relevant to I/O psych (at least in an applied sense), and I don't think I'll have trouble expressing this in my statement. However I'm just very concerned that the lack of any real evidence or testimonies as to my performance in and suitability for academic research will hurt my chances.

So, my questions are as follows:

1. Any thoughts as to how much this will hurt me? I.e., will it eliminate me from consideration from the top programs? Does it make a difference in terms of MA vs. PhD (in other words, would I have significantly better chance of getting into an MA program)? Does it help at all that I have a substantial amount of experience in media/market research in a business context, or not really?