confused between degrees.....

kush.ka

hi

i am a final year undergrad international student.

i am currently doing b.tech in biomedical engineering,

please can u help me by giving more info on the following degree and their job prospects

M.ENGG- offered by duke, boston etc

MS (thesis)

MS(non thesis/plan B)

ME

plz help

thanku!! :)

• 4 weeks later...

You can find really cool academic surrounding in BME in US universities. State of the art facilities and interesting research.

THOUGH, finding a job in industry would be a nightmare for you!

You can find really cool academic surrounding in BME in US universities. State of the art facilities and interesting research.

THOUGH, finding a job in industry would be a nightmare for you!

Why? Isn't BME supposed to be a hot area in both academia AND industry?

In academia yes, in industry no. The medical device industry has been taking a major beating. It is very difficult to get a job with simply a BS in bioE/BME. Now the prospects are definitely better if you're getting a graduate degree but it still is no walk in the park. My best advice is to get into a school that has very good connections with the biotech/med industry. It is the best approach to getting a job.

agreed. BME as field is blowing up, but not necessarily jobs for BME graduates. The one huge surprising fact I learned while getting my Masters was that biomedical industry companies tend to not want biomedical engineers. They want mechanical, computer, electrical, and software engineers. I recommend all the undergrads I know to NOT do BME, but rather do a "classical" engineering discipline like the ones I mentioned and then specialize in BME for graduate work. That is precisely why I switched my Masters from BME to EE, but am now doing BME for my PhD.