Career Change Advice... MA or PhD?

KatiLoraine

I'm new to Grad Cafe and wanted some input about a possible career change. I am broadly interested in museum management, exhibit design and textile/fiber restoration.

I currently have a BA in Theatre Arts Costume Technology and Arts Management and have been working for the past several years in costume departments of a few regional theatres. I minored in art history in undergrad but I'm wondering if I need to go back and finish the BA in Art History in order to be a competitive candidate for either an MA or PhD program. Additionally, which is the more worthwhile track, MA or PhD?

I would appreciate any tips or advice.

Thanks!

Depending on how many art history course you took, it may not matter as most departments don't require a major, just a specific number of courses. You might want to take a few refresher courses, depending on how long ago you went to school, but what I would really advise you to do is volunteer or intern in several different departments in art museums, as many as you can, to try and narrow down your interest area. Unless you want to curate, you do not need a Ph.D. in art history, and most of the fields of interest you have named fall more under museum studies or conservation MA's than strictly art history. Things like textile restoration and exhibit design require drastically different types of programs, so I would investigate some before making a commitment to a training path. Best of luck!