Concerning political science/IR PhD vs. Masters...

husky4ever

So, I'm a sophomore right now and I've recently transferred universities, from a small business school to a much larger university (top 20 public), to switch programs. I'm now declared a polisci major, IR as a concentration, and I've known since transferring that a research position is what I am looking for; though I'm not entirely against working outside of academia.

Here's my issue. I have a 3.15 GPA from my previous university, two C's bringing down the other high B's and A's. I also did an internship my second semester in a policy office for the Rhode Island State House, had a great experience. At my current university, I have grades transferred from high school in an "Early College Experience" program along with summer courses. My transcript here has a 3.25. I'm transferring most of those from my non-degree to my degree transcript, for my undergrad gpa on my diploma, but the other two C's will always be showing. This makes four C's on my transcript total already, World History & Financial Accounting at the business school, and Math for Business & Econ and World Civilizations from high school-- as well as a W in calculus this semester. It's really a mess, but I'm not failing or anything, I just realize how competitive graduate school is. This said, my major gpa between both schools is a 3.8 (IR and polisci courses)...I look around websites and see posts from people with 3.5+ GPAs worried about getting into a decent program, otherwise their life is over. As it stands, I will have two transcripts with a 3.15 (locked in) and my current 3.32. Of course I can bring this up, but the C's and W aren't going away and I'll never have that 4.0.