International student, low GPA, help!!

Hello everone,

This is my first message in this forum. I'm an international student who wants to apply for a sociology Phd program in USA and Canada. My undergrad GPA is 2.8 and for upper-division 3 out of 4. My Master's sociology program GPA is 3.8. I'm taking GRE next week but I have not studied for it properly, so I'm expecing low results. My area of interests are ethnicity and class inequality, social stratification, labor sociology. I'm planning to apply for Emory, U of Washington and Binghamton in USA and York, Toronto and British Columbia in Canada. I'm looking for full funding and extra stipend. Do I have any chance with these schools? If not, can you offer me another school that I would have better chances?

Thanks

If you graduated from Bogazici, Koc, Sabanci, etc., check with your professors with American degrees; I bet they have a better idea of where you should aim than we would (because they know you). Where you have a good shot at depends partially on your GRE, but it also depends a lot more on the parts of the application we can't see (letters, writing sample, statement of purpose); just from your GPA's and your wide range of interests, it's pretty impossible to guess. It's also hard for people to guess how high masters GPA/low ugrad GPA is considered (people think the graduate school GPA is mainly what's looked at, but no one knows). It's also hard to know how non-American grades in generally are considered.

That's a pretty wide range of schools; I'd consider adding some more American schools. I don't know these areas well enough (and I can't quite tell what you're interested in) so I can't help. Consider rephrasing your question and reposting it: ask, maybe "What mid-level schools should I look at if I'm interested in ethnicity, class inequality, social strat, and labor sociology?" That might get more useful answers.

bol sanslar.