Second Bachelor's in CS or Master's in CS

Hello everyone!

I graduated with a Biology degree from UCLA but I want to go back to school to learn CS. What would be wiser?: Applying for a second Bachelor's in CS or just going straight for a Master's program? I've taken Calculus and Statistics during undergrad (which I got As in) and some CS courses in high school (Comp Sci A and AB which I earned a 5 and 4 in respectively). I've heard that there isn't much point in getting another BS, but I'm also worried that graduate programs will not look favorably on the lack of prerequisites (ie college level CS class, higher math, etc.). If I do get accepted to a master's program I am prepared to take a bunch of those prerequisites, however. Overall, I do have a genuine interest in the subject and I'm not really aiming at top CS schools (or even upper tier) though it would be an unexpected surprise if I did get accepted. Most likely I'd apply to the Calstates or the "lower tier" UC schools unless I really stood a chance for some better schools.

My stats:

3.17 Overall GPA

3.08 Major GPA (I switched majors after getting manhandled by Neuroscience, my bio GPA is much higher)

GRE: 163V 165Q 4.5W

Work: Calteach Internship, part time tutoring

Thanks for any input!

• 4 weeks later...

It depends. What do you want to do after you learn CS? (e.g. software engineer in industry, college instructor, research etc) Is there a particular branch of CS you want to study? Would you be interested in computational biology/bioinformatics given your bio background?