Finding the right fit: Programs similar to HDS?

Anyong

Hey everybody,

Although I just created an account, I have been reading these forums ever since I started the grad school application process and have found the information to be very helpful.

I graduated with a degree in Comparative Studies with a focus in Religion in June from Ohio State. My degree concentrated on examining the construction of knowledge and the dynamics of power within a range of different discourses (a lot of Foucault), and the interdiciplinary structure of the department also allowed me to take a ton of classes with several Historians of Religion. Therefore, I feel like I am pretty well versed in the current discourse within the field of Religious Studies. In any case, during my final year, I became very interested in studying the rise of Christianity in Korea during the 20th century, and I would like to focus my graduate studies on this topic. I think that the Comparative Studies focus at Harvard Divinity is a great fit for me, not only because of the interdiciplinary structure of the program, but also because of the the Korea Institute at Harvard. Likewise, I know that the divinity school at the University of Chicago is very reputable for their programs focusing on the academic study of religion, and they too have a center dedicated to East Asian Studies (although it is not as concentrated as Harvard).

However, I do not believe that I am a shoe in at either program. My undergrad GPA was 3.48 (major GPA 3.65) and my GRE Scores are V160 Q155 and W TBD. I anticipate my LORs to be good, and my SOP should be fine as well.

Given these statistics, do you guys have any suggestions as to any other programs I should apply to given the realistic chance that I do not get into either HDS of Chicago?

Thanks!!