Quit current PhD and look for new PhD opportunity

CCMcintyre

Hi All,

I am absolutely new to this Forum :) . I joined in after seeing so many interesting topics being discussed here, topics I could more or less identify with. I am myself in an upsetting situation right now and was wondering if some of you could help me out here. So, I got accepted to this PhD program in Germany mid of this year and started my PhD in September. Prior to this I was in UK at a top University for my Masters. Owing to reduced funding options (I am an international student) I had to opt for PhD programs outside UK and somehow landed up here. I have been having problems with my supervisor since the 3rd week of my work here and a recent incident (read:- outrageous and unexpected behavior by my supervisor :angry: ) has forced me to take the decision of leaving this PhD. Also, I am finding it very difficult to adjust here and am getting more and more depressed with every passing day. My supervisor is an extremely bossy, dominating and a mostly rude person and I don't think I will survive 4 long years in the environment my supervisor creates. My lab members are nice and have all been indirectly hinting me to look for a new PhD position. Sadly I got to know about how crazy my supervisor is AFTER I joined the lab and people told me about it. The issue is I desperately want to get out of this place and to do so, I need to have a PhD position in my hand. After much effort I managed to get this position and now I am finding it difficult to start the entire application process again, more because I want to get a position in UK or Canada which are difficult to get (funding-wise). Also, PhD applications take up a lot of time and I need to find time for that. I will not be leaving my current position till I get a new one. I hope I don't end up getting kicked out of here for not being as enthusiastic I should be and then don't get any other PhD position as well. What should I do? Should I keep trying