Phd in art history with a Ma (merit)

dunnowhatdo

Hallo,

I´m brand new in this forum and would like to ask a couple of questions about application for an art history phd program.

I´m 24 and just graduated in aesthetics and art theory ma at Crmep - Kingston University London with a commendation, the equivalent of a merit. I´m pretty disappointed in what should I do and a little bit negatively upset because of my marks, I´m in a certain sense scared that I won´t be able to take part in any phd program because of my transcript of records:

57, 66, 68, 71 and the dissertation was judged 73.

I did my bachelor in Venice at the Iuav University and it ended up with a first. (110/110 cum laude according to the italian grading system). For the fact that I wasn´t so sure about my ma marks I decided to enrol in the ma of art history at Humboldt University in Berlin which I´m attending now.

I´m on one hand happy because I´m studying in Germany and like a lot Berlin but don´t know if I should just apply for a phd with the marks I got from my Uk ma or keep studying here and hoping for the best/gettin better grades.

Any advice is really welcome, cheers! :)

Hi, thansk for your answer. Yes 73 is like an A- according to the Uk grading system, but look at my other marks, they are not so high. I have to say I´m still looking around because I also still need to decide on which precise aspect of art history/aesthetics to focus. I have been interested in Aby Warburg and Renaissance Art but also Aby Warburg´s Mnemosyne Atlas in relation to Benjamin´s arcade project. I know these are topics that have been already widely researched that´s why I was thinking to shift to something more specific/new.

For what concerns the schools in which I´m interested I don´t know yet which have focus on my interest/future interest, I was looking at Brown, Yale, Harvard pages yesterday, just out of curiosity.