thinking of switching to another field at another school

I'm a graduate student in experimental condensed matter physics. Over the last few months, I've found my motivation for physics decreasing substantially going from "I'm definitely doing my PhD in this" to "grabbing my MS and change fields"; now I'm not even sure I can withstand the MS.

I thought about switching at the beginning. But I decided to give this semester my all. And I did. I do homework every weekend and every day. I am at school from 10 AM to 7 PM every day, working the whole day except for lunch. I tried to do research and read papers but the classes are too much.

My grades aren't too bad. However, each and every physics assignment has been an uphill struggle taking hours for a single problem. I wouldn't mind if this was on something interesting but doing it for the Nth rigid body problem is not the greatest motivation. This sort of frustration, coupled with the realization that what I'm learning is not going to directly apply to what I'm researching, saps me of energy. My health and my research plans have taken a decline due to spending far too much time doing homework.

This is just the beginning. The physics graduate sequence is 2 years so the homework situation will not be getting better. The only grad classes I'm not dreading to take are solid state physics, thermodynamics and electronics lab. I don't get a good feeling going to other classes like math methods, classical mechanics, EM and quantum - which happens to be most of physics.