Psychology graduate student interested in public policy.

geo

I am new to the boards. I've been reading (a lot of) posts, and it has been really helpful so far.

I want to inquire about how to transition into public policy. I'm a doctoral student in clinical psychology and will be defending my dissertation soon (next 2-3 months). However, I have developed a strong interest in public policy work, primarily healthcare and education policy. I have worked as a grad student in a variety of public institutions such as the court system, charter schools, and state and federal hospitals. Plus, I was involved with the American Psychological Association on the policy side as a grad student. Outside of grad school requirements, I worked on a political campaign. However, my grad school research was on health disparities, not on policy initiatives or implications.

What I am wondering is how feasible is it to transition from psychology to public policy? Ideally, I would like to work on Capital Hill as a legislative assistant on education and/or healthcare policy, but I am open to other policy issues. I am also willing to do policy work at a non-profit or think tank. I am concerned that since my degree is in psychology and not public policy that I will not be able to transition as smoothly or quickly. What other experiences should I get? Internships in congressional offices or the White House? Other internships? I am not interested in going back to school for another degree. I want to market my current and past experiences, and if needed, do another internship to switch into policy work. I'm just not sure of how to craft a route to get into policy work. Any suggestions or advice would be helpful.