Another chances thread with very specific questions:

dem

I have asked this on a different forum as well, but since I am just sitting here still undecided whether I should send in my application package in a month, I thought I would ask here as well, maybe somebody has been in a similar situation:

Background (skip if you just want the question :) )
I have for 5+ years been interested in the same academic areas, which included a branch of social science and mathematics/computer science. I never thought the two would ever merge, but it did, so right now my interests lie in social computing; doing social science with "Big Data". I have an undergrad from the best university in my country, which no one has ever heard of outside the country. My undergrad grades are pretty awful, since the degree was not very challenging, but I graduated with an Excellent diploma, which is the highest honors you can receive (when grading the diploma, they don't look at your GPA; they only look at your thesis grade, which has to be excellent, the result of your final exams, which is an intense oral and written exam of everything you studied during your undergrad -this also has to be excellent- and recommendations from two professors who taught you, your supervisor and an extra prof, who have to agree to grant you an Excellent diploma), but I think they rather look at your grades than the grade of your diploma, so I don't know how much that offsets my not so spectacular grade average.

I started a second undergrad in Computer science, which is going well, but I am only doing it as a hobby, as my academic interests are not in computer science, it is rather a tool I use to do research in social sciences.