International students - questions about paying taxes in the US

crater21

Hi everyone,

I'm a Canadian grad student in New York. My program gives me a stipend (not an assistantship or a job, just a living stipend). I just received my funds for the new semester and noticed that the university has taken off 14% "Withholding tax". Anyone know what this is about? 

Also, more generally, does anyone know what the tax liabilities are for international students? Do we have to file federal taxes in the US?

For the Canadians here - do we file income tax returns here or in Canada?

Thanks, and happy new year all!

Hi, also a Canadian in school in the US here (California). Like anthropologygeek says, we will have to file income taxes in both Canada and the US.

Income from Canada (e.g. for the 2012 tax year, if you made any money in Canada before moving to grad school, if this is your first year) will be taxed in Canada at Canadian rates. We still qualify for all of the basic exemptions so unless you were making a ton of money, you probably will get whatever tax you paid back. If you have no Canadian income, you might not have to file taxes (since you won't owe anything) but it's still a good idea to file these blank returns, in my opinion. It will help you keep track of any tax credits you want to carry forward (you might have a lot of educational credit leftover, for example).